Welcome Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Power Drifter Project

Posted by RedwoodRob 
Power Drifter Project
January 10, 2012 08:23AM
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to the forum and boat building and was wondering if I may be able to tap into the knowledge of the forum members about construction materials and methods to suit my project.

I want to build a jet sled with something lighter and more durable than plywood/glass and was wondering if the PP honeycomb could be used in place of a marine plywood hull and sides, but encapsulated the same way. One thing I am totally unsure of is thicknesses of material needed on the hull, sides, and transom.

The boat I'm interested in building is about 18-20ft power drifter style boat, I will attach a picture. The one in the picture I believe is a stitch and glue plywood/glass.

I have a garadge to work in that is big enough for the boat, and I'm a carpenter by trade so I'd like to think I'm handy enough to do this, though one thing that makes me wonder if I should is cost. I have no idea how much materials for something like this would be, can you give any idea? Costs may be a hang up for me.

Thanks for any help,

Rob

Re: Power Drifter Project
January 10, 2012 03:43PM
Search the forum archives, several people on here (Larry Hedrick for one) have built successful boats using honeycomb panels for the bottom, sides, bulkheads, decks, etc. The material has it's issues, but can be laminated and worked the same way as plywood, so it makes a good substitute. It costs about twice as much per sq ft as marine plywood. And not all honeycomb panels are created equally - see my post on materials durability.

Right now I am building a 16'9" plwood dory with a plascore bottom. I will spend aprox 3500-4000 on materials. With the sled, you will (obviously) need an outboard too, and those aint cheap.

Jeremy Christensen
January 10, 2012 05:08PM
The photo is almost exactly what I have been looking for.