Welcome Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

new to boat building

Posted by granny grann 
new to boat building
June 14, 2016 07:35PM
Hello all my name is Grann, I am new to the world of boat building. I have been rowing a wooden boat for the past 6 years I love the boat to death, I believe my boat was built around 1985 is a beautiful classic 14ft double ended wich is great for going through rock gardens and tight spots with one passenger up front. but I want a bigger boat to passable guide out of with two fly fishermen and the gear needed for multi-day trips. I mostly float in the PNW the Yakima, Hoh, Bogachiel not a lot of whitewater but lots of rock gardens.

I don't like the idea of owning an aluminum or Tupperware boat, however, I do like the way the new Clackacraft Eddy boats row. how hard would it be to build a wood boat that rows as easy as an Eddy? what plans are out there?

I like the look of the stitch and glue boat, I don't need anything too fancy,I think a 16 or 17-foot boat should do the job.
The Honky dory should work for what I need, I'm also looking at the cajune boat plans. as a first-time boat builder, what do I need to know about each of the plans? are there any good books I should read before I start this project? any and all advice is welcome.
Thank you for your time.

Re: new to boat building
June 15, 2016 12:08PM
You could design and build your own boat. Read the sticky posts at the top of this forum, all of which gradually boil down to the following: build a few scale models. Then build a full size model with adjustable ribs. Play with the full size model until the boat shape in front of you matches the image in your mind's eye. Turn it into a boat.

I built my first drift boat from plans in 1979. Every boat there after has been my own. The plans I started out with were awful. Sandy's Lead Sled they called it. Then I made my own.