Welcome Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Dayak in Desolation Canyon

Posted by Sandy 
Dayak in Desolation Canyon
May 10, 2017 09:08PM
Got back yesterday from a six day Green River trip in Utah.

I don't have any white water pics from this trip yet. They're coming eventually--from Dave Inskeep of http://www.inskeepimages.com/

The Dayak was great. It surprised even me. I waited too long and got sucked into the biggest wave at Joe Hutch. And didn't even get wet. This boat really was surprising. Stops on a dime. Turns effortlessly. Ferries anywhere you want. And stable.

Dave's 17' foot decked (by Dave) Tatman boat has a 54" inch bottom. So does the Dayak, even though it's only 9' feet long. I've been rowing it for four years now but this was the first big water test and I couldn't be more pleased.

Desolation Canyon was at 17000 cfs. Fun trip.

Re: Dayak in Desolation Canyon
May 11, 2017 03:21PM
Here's a Larry Hedrick photo of Dave Inskeep crashing the biggest wave at Joe Hutch on the Green, at 17,000 cfs. I ran the Dayak over that same wave a few minutes earlier. I'll have photos of that eventually.

Dave pushed on the oars and hit that wave as hard as he could. I back peddled and didn't hit so hard. But I went right over, in that tiny little boat. A half a second after that photo was snapped that wave surged up and Dave's boat launched downstream with only the transom still touching water. He almost caught some air, like a tattooed dreadlocks nose-ring skier jumping off a cornice.

Once I got past Joe Hutch I realized there was nothing to worry about.

Auto-upload image attachments STILL seem to be broken. I changed servers last month and this is one of the last remaining bugs. I'll get it eventually.

May 11, 2017 04:47PM
OOPs, I opened the JPG image with preview on IOS, then did a selection capture. Looks like I did it after doing a selection with the preview app and the selection boundary got in the image. I'll send you the original full size jpg.