Welcome Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First timer trying to finish a project

Posted by sorensen 
First timer trying to finish a project
February 27, 2018 02:26AM
Hello All.
I am new to boat building and could use some help.
I acquired a project boat in progress. I have no plans.
It is a stitch and glue boat. I was told it is patterned after a Freestone Classic. I will post pics of some areas of concern. I would welcome any input on what to do. Thanks

Randy Sorensen
Re: First timer trying to finish a project
February 27, 2018 04:34AM
I am not able to upload photos. Any suggestions?

Randy Sorensen
February 27, 2018 12:43PM
Photos have to be resized to no bigger than 700 pixels wide or they won't upload.This is a lame side effect of the forum software I use. Most softwares let you upload a big image and then the server side software makes it small for you.

There are a zillion free softwares you can use to resize photos.

Might try to google "windows free photo resize"

I have a free photo resizer on my android phone, that I got from the Google Play Store, searching on "photo resize"

Theoretically I could fix the forum software, or switch to another system, but I have sooo many projects now I can't.

February 27, 2018 04:58PM
You can send me any such images as an email attachment and I'll post them for you. I'd like to see what you have.
February 28, 2018 02:04AM
bad-outwale.jpg
boat2.jpg
boat3.jpg
boat.jpg
front-gunwale.jpg
front-inside.jpg
inside-stem.jpg
outside-front.jpg
seat-cleat.jpg

February 28, 2018 02:46AM
Thanks for posting the pics Sandy.
I would like to encourage anyone who has advice for me to share freely.
Randy

Randy Sorensen
February 28, 2018 03:04AM
This is an odd mixture of good work and bad.
Did the guy who started this boat work from plans or from a kit of pre-cut parts? It doesn't matter. It's almost a boat.

He seems to have done good glass work and some marginal wood work. This is a good boat. It can be fixed.