Welcome Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Marenti vs okoume vs sapele.

Marenti vs okoume vs sapele.
July 18, 2018 01:24AM
Hey guys my name is mike and hopefully you've been enjoying a great fishing season so far! I've been lurking around here for a couple of months now trying to gather ideas after seeing my first drift boat and falling in love with them. I'd be using this boat primarily in the delaware river fly fishing for small mouth with the occasional trip possibly on the raritan for trout during higher flows. I've been pretty sold on an entirely plascore boat until recently. I just can't get past the way a wood boat looks so I have decided to go with wood sides and a 1 inch plascore bottom. I'm looking for a darker rich finish for the wood and so here comes the question. What would provide the best finish in this manner? I also want lighter accents such as the strip of wood that runs near the bottom and rails on the gunnel. I'm also a first time builder and am very open to suggestions. I appreciate the time guys!
Re: Marenti vs okoume vs sapele.
July 18, 2018 02:49PM
Sepele is the most beautiful the darkest, the stronest and the most expensive. Okoume is the lightest and the weakest. Merante perhaps the best deal. Plascore for bottom only is the best choice for most projects. Keep us posted.

July 18, 2018 02:57PM
I used to get sepele from Harbor Sales in Maryland. For me in Montana shipping from Seattle is not much different than from back East

July 18, 2018 06:39PM
I was thinking Sapele was what I was looking for just wanted to verify before pulling the trigger. Will that finish very nicely with just cloth and resin or should a stain be added first? I was told a non oil based stain will work well with epoxy.
July 18, 2018 10:44PM