Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ideas and planning

Posted by mischievous 
Ideas and planning
April 10, 2019 04:40PM
First off, thanks to admin for their work.

I plan to build a 16'ish ft drifter. It's purpose is fly fishing and day floats. No significant white water. I am enamored with the Kingfisher and Cajune's Recurve. I fully admit it is their profiles that lure me. But, I need to go my own way, too. I have a roll of 3mm neoprene floor under-layment. My plan is to trace a Clacka Eddy, onto the neoprene, and use it for a template. Stitch and glue construction. The floor will be Plascore, hull walls 9mm Oakume.

I have built a frame and skin Broadbill duck skiff. But, I suspect this to be more detailed. I'm just getting started and have a huge learning curve. Please, if anyone sees a problem I am creating or headed toward... speak up. I have thick skin and welcome criticisms.

First question: why lay Aramid (kevlar) on both interior and exterior? It is expensive, hard to work with and sucks up a lot of resin. I see no benefit to interior use.
Re: Ideas and planning
April 11, 2019 02:53AM
I used Kevlar once and found it too hard to work with.

On the outside of a hull big rock hits won't in any way damage the fabric itself but they will shatter the surrounding resin. Normally, with glass or any other fabric you grind that soft spot out, tapering the edges, and then patch in some few fabric and resin. Patch a bigger piece over top of that, sand it smooth and finish coat it with resin. And hope not to hit that rock again.

With Kevlar it isn't easy to grind out the patch spot. Regular sand paper just turns it into a nightmare fuzz ball.