Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Almost ready for side panels

Posted by Sandy 
Almost ready for side panels
September 24, 2019 11:58AM
I started this boat two years ago. I used to wonder why it took so long for many of my customers to build a boat. But now I'm an apprentice geezer and I'm rapidly slowing down. Way down.

I have a limited energy range every day. I can still row all day but I can't work and think at the same time for more than a few hours every day. There are some medical reasons for this I won't go into. This boat is so different than anything I've built before it takes considerable thought at every step. And then some more. The last two weeks have been me rolling around upside down on an oil-change cart while working underneath the form assembly. And then I remember "Oh shit I forgot the impact driver."

I'm pretty close to putting the 3/8" Meranti Hydrotech side panels onto the form, and attaching them to the fiberglass bottom. Will those panels bend without wetting first? I'll find out. Wetting side panels isn't all that hard. You do need a boat load of throw-away rags, old towels are best. And water.

I'm fishing today. Work is mostly for young people.

At the bottom edge of the form you can see a 3/4" or so strip that shims the gunwale edge of the form out flush with the edges of the fiberglass bottom panel. I'm not sure I needed it. A few strategically placed blocks might have worked just as well. Either way it needed to be 7/8" thick. I tried to bend a single piece of fir but it wouldn't bend that much without breaking. Steam? Too much trouble. I ripped three strips and bent them on one by one. I then pried the strips apart and brushed in some Titebond III glue. And then clamped it all up.

I like to build gunwales the same way, except for finished glue-lam gunwales I use ash or white oak instead of fir.
Re: Almost ready for side panels
September 26, 2019 01:21PM
Sure is takin forever!, lol.

We're all watching!