New here...What are 3-person drift boat choices?
August 21, 2021 11:37PM
Ouch. I got careless and somehow over-wrote RAVC's original post rather than reply to it. He wanted to know about best choices for Au Sable Riverboat like drift boat combination, where you could negotiate shallow water but also stand up (which you cannot do in an Ausable style row boat). I've been running this forum since the late 1990s and this is the first time I obliterated someone else's post.

===================
My reply:

In order to negotiate shallow water you want width plus less rocker.
You could work with any drift boat plan and reduce its rocker.

Take a look at https://montana-riverboats.com/?robopage=Drift-boat-info/Reducing-Rocker

You could do this with any plan. Relatively flat bottomed boats are easy to slow down in a current and they do negotiate shallow water better. They are also harder and slower to turn. That's the price you pay for being able to drift in just a few inches of water.
Re: New here...What are 3-person drift boat choices?
August 26, 2021 12:42AM
I suspect a slight misinterpretation of my original message. That is, I'm not necessarily trying to reduce the draft of a given design. Rather, I am attempting to determine the draft of a given boat. So far, the boats I have looked into all state the same...4" empty and as much as 8" loaded. Is 8" an issue? I can only speculate because I do not have knowledge of all the rivers I am interested in fishing. I returned to fly fishing four years ago after a very long break from it in order to introduce my son the the sport and its conservationist lifestyle.

I referenced the Au Sable because it does have some shallow sections over rocks and we know rocks and wood hull drift boats do not go together well. For this reason I am looking into Plasticore and similar products for the bottom.